I’ve Decided to Study!

How to Plan The Start of Your Studies:

How Is a Degree Course Designed?

 

Studying at the University of Zurich means joining the Bachelor’s degree program or the Master’s degree program, and each of these levels offer a degree programs with different content and specializations. A degree program consists of coursework with which students earn the ECTS credits they need for a Bachelor's or a Master's degree. The Bachelor’s level is the first level of the Swiss university system. At the University of Zurich, the Bachelor’s degree program always requires 180 ECTS credits, while the Master’s program can involve 90, 120, or 180 ECTS credits. 

You will find an overview of the Bachelor's and Master's programs at UZH here. 

The Bachelor's level lays the groundwork for further academic work by placing a strong emphasis on methodologies and developing a scholarly approach. Students who graduate with a Bachelor's degree can continue their studies at the Master's level or work temporarily or permanently in a science field.

 

You choose a study program, which is an element of the degree program defined in terms of content and specialization that earns you a certain number of ECTS credits. A degree program can consist of one study program or several study programs (major and minor). Depending on the degree program, students must choose either a single-major program or full-time degree program, or a major program (in rare cases two) plus one minor program or two minor programs. The major and minor programs vary in the number of ECTS credits they offer, depending on the faculty.

A study program can require certain content areas for students to choose from and specialize in.

Every study program is allocated to one branch of studies or several branches of studies, which group the content accordingly and then define the admission requirements for the Master's level: Students with a Bachelor's degree in a particular branch of studies are admitted to the Master's study program in the same branch at any Swiss university without having to meet further requirements.

The details on a study program are included in the respective program regulations (in some cases also in the framework ordinance). The websites of the various faculties contain all the regulations. Learn more about the faculties of the University of Zurich

 

The study programs are individual units of coursework made up of modules. A module (in German) can consist of one course or several courses. Every semester, students enroll in modules and put together their schedule for that semester.

 

 

How Can I Plan My Studies?

 
 

The guidelines, information sheets, and forms/templates for study programs are updated regularly and will help you answer questions about studies at an institute or in a seminar. Look for the guideline for your studies on your study program’s website for information about enrolling in modules and the design and structure of the program.

 

The academic advisors will answer questions you may have about the schedule and coursework, or you can contact the various student organizations.

The University of Zurich Student Association, together with the NZZ Campus, has compiled LiesDas, a study guide (in German) for starting the semester.

 

Funding

The following table provides an overview of the minimum monthly study and living costs at UZH. These are standard values, and living costs vary from person to person. 

 

Expenditures

CHF

Tuition and fees*

130

Course materials**

100

Rent, including heating

690

Extras (phone, internet, Billag)

140

Food / cafeteria

450

Health insurance***, insurance

100

Transportation

100

Clothing, personal care

100

Leisure, pocket money

150

Taxes, AHV contributions

40  

 

Students at the University of Zurich will need approximately  CHF 2,000 a month in total to cover the standard costs of living and studying.

 

* Non-Swiss students with a foreign university entrance qualification will need CHF 210 / month at the Bachelor’s level and CHF 145 / month at the Master’s level).

** Depending on the subject area

*** After deduction of the premium discount

Source: Student Financial Aid Office 

 

The Student Financial Aid Office is the first contact point for questions about funding your studies at the University of Zurich. The staff helps UZH students plan their budgets and coordinates financial aid and loans. 

 

Apps

The online tool for smartphones and desktop computers shows your individual schedule and gives you direct access to the course catalogue, among other things. You can also download the new  UZH Launchpad (in German) app to your phone. The mobile apps with overview of UZH (in German) can help as well.

 

Exam preparations

When examinations prove to be more difficult than expected or pressure mounts because of an exclusion or from having been barred from a course or from a failed attempt, it is high time to consult the specialized literature and adjust one’s study habits. Psychological Counseling Services recommends selected literature and offers courses on managing exam anxiety and exam repetition (in German).

Parenthood and Other Questions on Work-Life Integration

 

The Office for Gender Equality (see the fact sheets on parenthood) has information for women and men on how to balance their studies, careers, and family commitments. Read more about childcare options, nursing rooms, and changing tables. The Foundation for Childcare in the Zurich University Area (kihz) offers services at the University of Zurich and ETH Zurich.

 

The Disability Office provides information, consultations, and support for people with a disability or chronic illness who study and work.

Jetzt studiere ich!

So plane ich meinen Studieneinstieg:

Wie ist ein Studium aufgebaut?

Grafik zur Studienstruktur
Grafik zur Studienstruktur
Beispiel für den Aufbau eines Studiengangs

 

Das grundständige Studium der UZH ist in zwei Studienstufen unterteilt: die Bachelor- und die Masterstufe. Auf jeder Studienstufe werden fachlich verschieden ausgerichtete Studiengänge angeboten. Ein Studiengang ist eine durch den Umfang in ECTS Credits und den zu erwerbenden Bachelor- oder Mastergrad definierte Einheit des Studiums. Die Bachelorstufe bezeichnet die erste Studienstufe im Schweizer Hochschulsystem. An der UZH umfasst ein Bachelor-Studiengang immer 180 ECTS Credits, ein Master-Studiengang kann 90, 120 oder 180 ECTS Credits umfassen. 

Hier finden Sie einen Überblick über die Bachelor- und Master-Studiengänge der UZH. Lesen Sie Hintergrundinformationen zu Aufbau und Struktur von Studiengängen.

Die Bachelorstufe ist auf die Vermittlung einer grundlegenden wissenschaftlichen Bildung und eines methodischen wissenschaftlichen Denkens ausgerichtet. Der Bachelorabschluss befähigt zum Weiterstudium auf Masterstufe oder zum vorübergehenden oder definitiven Übertritt in wissenschaftlich orientierte Berufsfelder.

 

Sie wählen ein Studienprogramm, das ist eine durch die inhaltlich-fachliche Ausrichtung und den Umfang in ECTS Credits definierte Untereinheit des Studiengangs. Ein Studiengang kann aus einem oder mehreren Studienprogrammen (Major- und Minor-Studienprogramme) bestehen. Je nach Studiengang belegen die Studierenden entweder ein Mono-Studienprogramm/Vollstudium oder ein (oder selten zwei) Major-Studienprogramm plus ein oder zwei Minor-Studienprogramme. Die Major- und Minor-Studienprogramme haben je nach Fakultät unterschiedliche Umfänge in ECTS Credits.

Ein Studienprogramm kann (muss aber nicht) eine beliebige Anzahl von Schwerpunkten vorsehen, aus denen die Studierenden einen auswählen und sich entsprechend spezialisieren können.

Jedes Studienprogramm ist einer oder mehreren Studienrichtungen zugeordnet. Die Studienrichtungen gruppieren inhaltlich verwandte Studienprogramme und regeln die konsekutive Zulassung zur Masterstufe: Studierende mit einem Bachelorabschluss einer bestimmten Studienrichtung werden an allen schweizerischen Universitäten ohne weitere Bedingungen und/oder Auflagen zum Masterstudium derselben Studienrichtung zugelassen.

Alle Einzelheiten eines Studienprogramms sind jeweils in der Studienordnung (teilweise auch in der entsprechenden Rahmenverordnung) festgelegt. Alle Reglemente finden Sie auf den Internet-Seiten der einzelnen Fakultäten. Informieren  Sie sich über die verschiedenen Fakultäten der UZH.

 

Die Studienprogramme sind in einzelne Lerneinheiten, die Module, untergliedert. Ein Modul kann aus einer oder mehreren Lehrveranstaltungen bestehen. Die Studierenden buchen jedes Semester Module und stellen sich so ihren Stundenplan für das Semester zusammen.

 

Wie organisiere ich mein Studium?

 
 

Wegleitungen, Merkblätter und Formulare/Vorlagen werden für die Studienprogramme fortwährend aktualisiert und klären Fragen oder regeln Gesuche, die das Studium an einem Institut/Seminar betreffen. Suchen Sie sich die Wegleitung Ihres Studiums auf der Website Ihres Studienprogrammes, um Fragen zu Modulbuchungen, Aufbau und Struktur zu beantworten!

 

Fragen zum Stundenplan und der Studienorganisation wird von Ihren Studienprogrammberatenden beantwortet oder Sie wenden sich an die verschiedenen Studentischen Organisationen!

Der studentische Interessensverband VSUZH hat in Zusammenarbeit mit dem NZZ Campus einen Studienführer und Semesterstarter erstellt: das LiesDas.

 

Finanzierung

Folgende Tabelle gibt einen Überblick über die minimalen monatlichen Studien- und Lebenskosten an der UZH. Diese sind als Richtwerte zu verstehen, da die Lebenshaltungskosten sehr individuell sind. 

 

Ausgaben

CHF

Studiengebühr*

130.-

Lehrmittel**

100.-

Miete inkl. Heizung

690.-

Nebenkosten (Telefon, Internet, Billag)

140

Lebensmittel /Mensa

450.-

Krankenkasse***, Versicherungen

100.-

Transportkosten

100.-

Bekleidung, Hygiene

100.-

Freizeit, Taschengeld

150.-

Steuern, AHV-Beitrag

40.-  

 

Total belaufen sich die anerkannten Lebens- und Studienkosten für Studierende an der Universität Zürich auf Fr. 2’000.- monatlich .

 

* Nicht-CH-Studierende mit ausländischem Hochschulzulassungsausweis Fr. 210.-/Mt. auf Bachelor-Stufe bzw. 145.-/Mt. auf Master-Stufe)

** je nach Fachrichtung

*** nach Abzug der Prämienverbilligung

Quelle: Fachstelle Studienfinanzierung 

 

Die Fachstelle Studienfinanzierung ist Anlaufstelle für alle Fragen rund um die Finanzierung Ihres Studiums an der Universität Zürich. Sie bietet u.a. Unterstützung bei der Budgetplanung und vermittelt Stipendien sowie Darlehen. 

 

Apps

Das Online-Tool für Mobile und Desktop zeigt den eigenen Stundenplan an und bietet einen direkten Zugriff auf das Vorlesungsverzeichnis und die eigene Leistungsübersicht. Das neue UZH-Launchpad als Web-App für den Download auf Ihr Mobile. Die Mobile Apps Übersicht der UZH kann Ihnen weiterhelfen.

 

Prüfungsvorbereitungen

Spätestens wenn die Prüfungen schwieriger sind als erwartet oder der Druck wegen Ausschlüssen und Fehlversuchen wächst, lohnt es sich, einen Blick in Fachliteratur zu werfen, um die eigenen Lernstrategien kritisch zu hinterfragen. Die Psychologische Beratungsstelle empfiehlt  Literatur und bietet Kurse zu Prüfungsangst und Prüfungsrepetition an.

Elternschaft oder andere Fragen zur Vereinbarkeit

 

Die Abteilung Gleichstellung informiert und unterstützt Frauen und Männer, die Studium, berufliche Karriere und Familie vereinbaren wollen. Informationen zu Kinderbetreuung, Stillzimmern und Wickeltischen finden Sie hier. Die Kinderbetreuung im Hochschulraum Zürich (kihz) ist eine Stiftung der Universität Zürich und ETH Zürich.

 

Die Fachstelle Studium und Behinderung bietet Information, Beratung und Unterstützung beim Studieren und Arbeiten mit Behinderung oder chronischer Krankheit.